home mission scholarship activities donations who we are   canadon
biography great friends contact us newsletter links Français



Photography: Louise de Grosbois
© Fondation Léa-Roback

The Lea Roback Foundation

Throughout her life, Lea Roback (1903-2000) fought for the rights of women, peace, social justice, and universal access to education. In the 1930s, she became a trade union activist with workers in various industries in the Montreal area. From the 1960s on, Lea Roback was involved in the peace movement and the women’s movement.

Established in November 1993, on the occasion of her 90th birthday, the Lea Roback Foundation, inspired by Lea’s lifelong ideals, awards scholarships to women residing in Québec who are socially committed and economically disadvantaged.


The application form and all the informations are on the scholarships page.

25th Anniversary of the Foundation

VIVA LÉA! Exhibit
The exhibit is now closed, please contact us if you are interested to display it.

December 2018 Newsletter

Our latest newsletter is now online on the Publications page.



Your financial support is important, as Lorraine Pagé, President of the Foundation puts it:

«Every year, I am touched by these women, amongst the most disadvantaged citizens in our community who, all the same, have kept up hope to make a go of it. Every year, I am amazed by the stories of our scholarship recipients and their academic, professional and personal achievements. Please allow me to thank you for your donation on behalf of all these women who are counting on us. They are the reason for our commitment. Your generosity will play a valuable role in changing their lives and in making our world just a little bit more humane.» .

The Foundation’s board of directors enjoys considerable financial aid from many Partners and Great Partners who share its objectives.

Great Partners of the Foundation:

The Centrale des syndicats du Québec (CSQ);
the Confédération des syndicats nationaux (CSN);
the Fédération interprofessionnelle de la santé du Québec (FIQ);
the Fondation Solstice;
Montréal Explorations;
the Soeurs de Saint-Joseph de Saint-Hyacinthe (comité solidarité SJSH);
Mr Philippe Dubé;
Mr André Joffe;
Ms Pauline Lantz;
Ms Louse Potvin;
Ms Nicole Ranger;
Ms Arlene Zimmerman
and a donor who wishes to remain anonymous.

Partners of the Foundation:

The Alliance du personnel professionnel et technique de la santé et des services sociaux (APTS);
the Caisse d’économie solidaire Desjardins;
the Fédération autonome de l’enseignement (FAE);
the Fédération des travailleurs et travailleuses du Québec (FTQ);
the Fédération nationale des enseignantes et enseignants du Québec (FNEEQ-CSN);
the Maison générale des Ursulines de Québec;
the Syndicat de l’enseignement de l’Ouest de Montréal;
the Syndicat des professionnelles et des professionnels du milieu de l’éducation de Montréal (CSQ);
Ms Laura Alper;
Ms Jacqueline Bassini;
Ms Donna Mergler;
Ms Monique Simard;
Ms Lorraine Pagé;
Ms Lucille Panet-Raymond;
Ms Katherine Roback
and Ms Annalee Yassi.

Lorraine Pagé

Photographie Clairmont Bergeron ©

All rights reserved © Lea Roback Foundation 2002 and 2005

Tous droits réservés © Fondation Léa-Roback 2002 et 2005